Zigli Research Award

This award was established to support graduate students engaged in research/scholarly activities such as travel related to study, attendance at professional conferences, and/or purchase of supplies or research materials.  Awards for currently enrolled students will be processed via Student Accounts. Students who have graduated will receive a check in the mail. For 2022, the anticipated award is $600.


Nomination by Wednesday, February 23, 2022;
Materials by Tuesday, March 8, 2022

Email Nominations to: Dr. Ross Gosky with  SUBJECT LINE: Zigli Research Award

Application Information

  • A statement from the graduate student describing the research project and outlining in detail how the funds will be used.
  • A letter of nomination and/or endorsement from the faculty mentor

Selection Criteria

Eligible research includes theses and dissertations, capstone or major final research projects, or products of learning. Research connected with regular course work is not eligible. When reviewing applicants for this award, reviewers should consider the following (not necessarily in order of importance):

  • How clearly is the research topic presented?
  • How significant is the research to the field?
  • Is there evidence that the applicant (student) contributed to the development of the research project, questions to be addressed, and the methodology to be employed.
  • How original is the topic to be researched and the questions to be addressed?
  • Is the letter of support from the faculty mentor strongly supportive and does the mentor suggest a certain level of independence on the part of the student for the research/scholarly activity?
  • If the project involves drawing conclusions from an experiment of some sort, was the experimental design sound?


Ronald Zigli and Family

Past Recipients

  • 1993: Matthew Rowe, Biology
  • 1994: Kelly Benton, Language, Reading & Exceptionalities
  • 1995: Kevin Darden, History
  • 1996: Eileen D. Strahl, Biology
  • 1997: Michelle M. Barthet, Biology
  • 1998: Deanna Shelor, English
  • 1999: Melodie Bateman, Psychology
  • 2000: Beth Hudson, Biology
  • 2001: John Sealy, Biology
  • 2002: Cassie Robinson, Appalachian Studies
  • 2003: Andrew Coleman, Biology
  • 2004: William Gowin, Health, Leisure and Exercise Science
  • 2005: Sarah Koning, History
  • 2006: Marissa Swaim, Psychology, and Josiah Zayner, Biology
  • 2007: Lynsey Capone, Sociology and Social Work
  • 2008: Kendra Maxwell, Biology
  • 2009: Ginger Kelly, Geography and Planning
  • 2010: not given
  • 2011: not given
  • 2012: Manley Worth Pugh, Biology
  • 2013: Amanda Finn, English
  • 2014-2015: Nicole DelCogliano, Appalachian Studies
  • 2015-2016: Leslie McKesson, Educational Leadership
  • 2016-2017: Brooke Hardin, Educational Leadership
  • 2017-2018: Laura Thompson, Geography and Planning
  • 2018-2019: Matthew Wilson, Geography and Planning
  • 2019-2020: Jen Tinsley, Exercise Science
  • 2020-2021: Patricia Ferreira, Psychology