Zigli Research Award

This award was established to support graduate students engaged in research/scholarly activities such as travel related to study, attendance at professional conferences, and/or purchase of supplies or research materials.  Awards for currently enrolled students will be processed via Student Accounts. Students who have graduated will receive a check in the mail. For Spring 2024, the anticipated award is $700.


Nomination by Monday, February 12, 2024
Materials by Wednesday, March 6, 2024

Email Nominations to: Dr. Ross Gosky with  SUBJECT LINE: Zigli Research Award

Application Information

  • A statement from the graduate student describing the research project and outlining in detail how the funds will be used.
  • A letter of nomination and/or endorsement from the faculty mentor

Selection Criteria

Eligible research includes theses and dissertations, capstone or major final research projects, or products of learning. Research connected with regular course work is not eligible. When reviewing applicants for this award, reviewers should consider the following (not necessarily in order of importance):

  • How clearly is the research topic presented?
  • How significant is the research to the field?
  • Is there evidence that the applicant (student) contributed to the development of the research project, questions to be addressed, and the methodology to be employed.
  • How original is the topic to be researched and the questions to be addressed?
  • Is the letter of support from the faculty mentor strongly supportive and does the mentor suggest a certain level of independence on the part of the student for the research/scholarly activity?
  • If the project involves drawing conclusions from an experiment of some sort, was the experimental design sound?


Ronald Zigli and Family

Past Recipients

  • 2022-2023:  Marisa Howell, Nutrition and Health Care Management
  • 2021-2022: Tonya Moore, Reading Education
  • 2020-2021: Patricia Ferreira, Psychology
  • 2019-2020: Jen Tinsley, Exercise Science
  • 2018-2019: Matthew Wilson, Geography and Planning
  • 2017-2018: Laura Thompson, Geography and Planning
  • 2016-2017: Brooke Hardin, Educational Leadership
  • 2015-2016: Leslie McKesson, Educational Leadership
  • 2014-2015: Nicole DelCogliano, Appalachian Studies
  • 2013: Amanda Finn, English
  • 2012: Manley Worth Pugh, Biology
  • 2011: not given
  • 2010: not given
  • 2009: Ginger Kelly, Geography and Planning
  • 2008: Kendra Maxwell, Biology
  • 2007: Lynsey Capone, Sociology and Social Work
  • 2006: Marissa Swaim, Psychology, and Josiah Zayner, Biology
  • 2005: Sarah Koning, History
  • 2004: William Gowin, Health, Leisure and Exercise Science
  • 2003: Andrew Coleman, Biology
  • 2002: Cassie Robinson, Appalachian Studies
  • 2001: John Sealy, Biology
  • 2000: Beth Hudson, Biology
  • 1999: Melodie Bateman, Psychology
  • 1998: Deanna Shelor, English
  • 1997: Michelle M. Barthet, Biology
  • 1996: Eileen D. Strahl, Biology
  • 1995: Kevin Darden, History
  • 1994: Kelly Benton, Language, Reading & Exceptionalities
  • 1993: Matthew Rowe, Biology