Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant Award

This award was established to recognize graduate students in graduate teaching assistantships (GTA) who excel as instructors in undergraduate classes.  Awards for currently enrolled students will be processed via Student Accounts. Students who have graduated will receive a check in the mail.


Nomination by Monday, February 12, 2024
Materials by Tuesday, February 27, 2024

Email Nominations to: Dr. Ross Gosky with SUBJECT LINE: Outstanding Graduate Student Teaching Award

Application Information

Eligibility for Nomination

Any graduate teaching assistant who is currently enrolled, and who taught a class or lab during the Fall or Spring semester of the current academic year.

Nomination Process

Send nominations for this award to the Graduate School via email. Nominated students will be informed of the nomination and invited to submit an application, which will include supporting materials and letters of support.

Selection Criteria

Candidates will be judged initially on the basis of the documentation provided by the department relative to the student's achievement as a teacher. Finalists for the awards may be interviewed and/or observed in the classroom by the members of the Committee. The following is a list of specific items that should be included in the supporting material:

  • A list of courses taught by the GTA;
  • Evaluation by students (optional);
  • Evaluation by faculty members;
  • Evidence of course development, including syllabi and educational material prepared by the GTA;
  • A statement of teaching philosophy (optional);
  • Evidence of teaching efforts outside the classroom (optional).


Appalachian State University Foundation

Past Recipients

  • 2022-2023:  Emily Walker, Psychology
  • 2021-2022: Krystal Carter, Appalachian Studies
  • 2020-2021: Val Lapensée-Rankine, Computer Science
  • 2019-2020: John Ribes, Student Affairs Administration
  • 2018-2019: Amy Litterer, History
  • 2017-2018: Jessica Swets, Psychology
  • 2016-2017: Daniel George, Psychology
  • 2015-2016: David Marvel, Music Performance
  • 2014-2015: Miles Britton, English
  • 2014: Amanda Finn; English
  • 2013: Kristen Deamin; Appalachian Studies
  • 2012: Rafaella Sale, Psychology; April L. Walters, Appalachian Studies
  • 2011: Kyle Austin, Psychology; Donna Corriher, Appalachian Studies
  • 2010: Meredith Doster, Appalachian Studies
  • 2009: Anna Petroff, Psychology
  • 2008: Andrew Smith, Psychology
  • 2007: Jennifer N. DeStefano, Psychology; Lucinda O. Payne, Psychology
  • 2006: J Rudine, Psychology
  • 2005: Sara Keisler, Psychology
  • 2004: Gustavo Araujo, Psychology; James W. Reynolds, English; Anne-Marie Suddreth, Psychology
  • 2003: Krista Konrad, Psychology; Emily Miller, English; Hayley Shilling, Psychology
  • 2002: Kelley Dickerson, English; Robert Hamby, Psychology; Beth Leysieffer, English
  • 2001: Jill Masten-Byers, Human Development & Psychological Counseling; Alma Scoby, Psychology; Matthew Williams, English
  • 2000: Bryce Durbin, History; Joni Hoke, English; Megan Pinkston, Psychology
  • 1999: Pamela Slaydon, English; Nestor Lopez, Psychology; Renee Evans, Human Development & Psychological Counseling
  • 1998: Michele Croteau, English; Cindy Van Riper, Human Development & Psychological Counseling; Amy Walter, English
  • 1997: Melissa Lakey, Psychology; Ashley Nation, English; Kent Rothrock, Geography & Planning
  • 1996: Gail Forsyth, Language, Reading & Exceptionalities; Dawn Thomas, Psychology; Amy Tilly, English
  • 1995: Mark Heglin, Geography & Planning; Jeff Dyche, Psychology; Suzanne Shaut, English
  • 1994: Shelly Turlington, Psychology; Shirley Unsworth, English; Adam Wolf, Geography & Planning
  • 1993: Mary DeKalb, English; Laurel Parsons, Sociology; Kirsten Schoonmaker-Bryant, Human Development & Psychological Counseling